Doug Perkins Medal finalists named ahead of SCC8 award presentation

The Australian and New Zealand Specsavers stores demonstrating consistently high standards of clinical excellence and patient care have been announced in the lead-up to the Specsavers Clinical Conference (SCC8), where one store from each country will be awarded the prestigious Doug Perkins Medal.

The Doug Perkins Medal was introduced in 2018 and is awarded annually. This year, the finalists were identified based on the following criteria:

  • Leadership in delivering exceptional patient outcomes
  • Consistent feedback demonstrating the positive patient experience
  • A focus on education and training
  • Implementation of store processes that have delivered consistent quality eye care
  • Commitment to accessible eye health
  • Collaborative engagement with medicine.

To determine the finalists, a nation-wide analysis was conducted using data collected through the Specsavers Professional Benchmark Initiative (PBI). The PBI aggregates and tracks patient outcomes across Specsavers Australia & New Zealand’s store network.

The information from the PBI was combined with data from Specsavers’ patient feedback platform, as well as health outcome data from the Oculo electronic referral system.

The finalists represent the top 4% of all Specsavers stores across Australia and New Zealand, delivering consistently high standards of patient care across all key aspects of clinical practice.

The Australian finalists are:

  • Specsavers Loganholme, QLD
  • Specsavers Nowra Stockland, NSW
  • Specsavers Albany, WA
  • Specsavers Salamander Bay, NSW
  • Specsavers Mornington, VIC
  • Specsavers Tamworth, NSW
  • Specsavers Cannonvale, QLD
  • Specsavers Ellenbrook, WA
  • Specsavers Victor Harbor, SA
  • Specsavers Ipswich, QLD
  • Specsavers Dubbo, NSW
  • Specsavers Warwick, WA.
The New Zealand finalists are:

  • Specsavers Newmarket
  • Specsavers Wanganui
  • Specsavers Dunedin
  • Specsavers Massey

The winning stores will be announced at SCC8, which takes place from 7 to 8 September 2019 at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre. The awards will be presented on the main stage during the Sunday conference program.

To find out more about SCC8 and to secure your place at the event, visit the SCC8 event page.

Non-Specsavers optometrists located in Australia and New Zealand can also enter the Spectrum Prize Draw for a chance to win 20 free ticket / flight / accommodation packages to SCC8. Visit Spectrum to find out more.